What EQ do you use?

Request or share system lineups and settings.
RockmanCentralBob
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:10 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by RockmanCentralBob » Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:54 pm

mikegiovannucci wrote: โ†‘
Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:18 am
MEQ 14 dual.

Now I just need to find the info on how to modify it to mimic a PGE2. ๐Ÿ˜‰
If you need it modded, I may be able to help you with that.... I'd have to order the parts though since I don't think I have them handy.

rock0ut
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:57 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by rock0ut » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:32 pm

What does the mod entail?

mikegiovannucci
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:35 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by mikegiovannucci » Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:49 am

RockmanCentralBob wrote: โ†‘
Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:54 pm
mikegiovannucci wrote: โ†‘
Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:18 am
MEQ 14 dual.

Now I just need to find the info on how to modify it to mimic a PGE2. ๐Ÿ˜‰
If you need it modded, I may be able to help you with that.... I'd have to order the parts though since I don't think I have them handy.
Sounds like a plan.

Not sure where you get your parts from Bob. You may want to check out arrow.com. I have no clue how they do it. You can buy 1 resistor for 5 cents and they will ship it overnight to ya. :o

When you do the mod on each band, do you replace both resistors and caps?

Mike

RockmanCentralBob
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:10 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by RockmanCentralBob » Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:30 pm

mikegiovannucci wrote: โ†‘
Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:49 am
RockmanCentralBob wrote: โ†‘
Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:54 pm
mikegiovannucci wrote: โ†‘
Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:18 am
MEQ 14 dual.

Now I just need to find the info on how to modify it to mimic a PGE2. ๐Ÿ˜‰
If you need it modded, I may be able to help you with that.... I'd have to order the parts though since I don't think I have them handy.
Sounds like a plan.

Not sure where you get your parts from Bob. You may want to check out arrow.com. I have no clue how they do it. You can buy 1 resistor for 5 cents and they will ship it overnight to ya. :o

When you do the mod on each band, do you replace both resistors and caps?

Mike
Yeah, there's 2 capacitors and 2 resistors that have to be changed for each band, for each channel. There are a few that don't have to change because they are already correct, and there are some that are correct, but end up having to be moved to a different band due to the frequency resolution shifts going on. So it's a LOT of parts to change.

BTW, in reality, I don't think it's as critical for the pre-distortion to have the resolution of the PGE2, but it definitely helps for post-distortion.
In light of that, I do have a couple of Digitech Mono28 EQ's available if you'd rather go that route... (you would only need one).
It's even finer resolution than the PGE2 (28 bands vs 14), so that could be a better (and cheaper) solution for you to consider.

mikegiovannucci
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:35 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by mikegiovannucci » Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:14 pm

Thanks for the offer Bob. Well that would entail getting another stage head. lol

For now I am going to stick with what I have to work with.

When you made your frequency change, did you also change the bandwidth of the filter or did you just leave it at 2/3 octave? I am trying to the math so it follows the same bandwidth as the PGE2. But something in the PGE2 manual has me confused that you may be able to shed some light on for me. It states the following.

"The eight mid-range bands are 1/2 octave apart for more control where it's needed. The three bass and two treble bands are one octave apart"

8+3+2=13. Ummmmm where is the 14th and what octave is it set at?

Mike G

RockmanCentralBob
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:10 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by RockmanCentralBob » Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:16 pm

That's weird..... maybe a misprint?

mikegiovannucci
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:35 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by mikegiovannucci » Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:38 am

RockmanCentralBob wrote: โ†‘
Mon Jan 14, 2019 3:16 pm
That's weird..... maybe a misprint?
I guess it's a standard SR&D mystery. :roll: