What EQ do you use?

Request or share system lineups and settings.
User avatar
Guitarvamp
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:02 am

What EQ do you use?

Post by Guitarvamp » Sun Jul 12, 2015 3:09 pm

Just as simple as that - what EQ do you use? Foot pedal, rack, table top, computer, old, new, whatever. I'm thinking I can make a graph showing all the different frequencies, and how they compare to what everyone else uses.
I use a Rockman 1/2 rack EQ, a Boss 1/2 EQ, and an MXR 10 band.

User avatar
rbc
Site Admin
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2013 10:01 pm
Location: Vicksburg MS, USA

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by rbc » Sun Jul 12, 2015 6:15 pm

I have a Behringer Ultragraph Pro at the moment. It was chosen more for availability and form factor than frequencies. I haven't been doing that much tweeking of frequencies. I've mostly messed with 250 Hz through 1 kHz, making adjustments less than 6 dB.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
The rockman-gearup.com forum is community supported. Please consider making a contribution. Here’s the link: https://paypal.me/rockmangearup/5/

rock0ut
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:57 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by rock0ut » Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:12 am

This is something I would like to learn more about, any updates fellas?

Thanks

GuitarBuilder
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2014 7:14 pm

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by GuitarBuilder » Sat Jan 05, 2019 6:45 pm

Here's my setup:

The full rig. Note the Sustainor with PSRR Quad Modification. Smart Gate is in Sustainor Distortion Loop.
Image

Close-up of EQ in Sustainor Distortion Loop
Image

Closeup of EQ in Sustainor Clean Loop and EQ after Sustainor, before Chorus Delay
Image

rock0ut
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:57 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by rock0ut » Sat Jan 05, 2019 10:56 pm

Thanks for the detailed closeup of your EQ settings.
After starting with the Sustainor and a Stereo Chorus, two EQ modules are my next steps.

mikegiovannucci
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:35 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by mikegiovannucci » Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:18 am

MEQ 14 dual.

Now I just need to find the info on how to modify it to mimic a PGE2. 😉

rock0ut
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:57 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by rock0ut » Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:58 am

Is that what the PGE2 is based off of?

mikegiovannucci
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:35 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by mikegiovannucci » Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:13 am

rock0ut wrote:
Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:58 am
Is that what the PGE2 is based off of?
The MEQ came out in 1990 and the PGE2 in 1991. They use 2 different op amps. It could have been one of those, hey this is a great idea, lets make one better type of thing and the PGE2 was born. But you an conver one to have the same frequency layout just like the PGE2 and easier to get.

Mike

Fireful0
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:00 pm

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by Fireful0 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 4:09 am

Currently using an ART Tube Parametric EQ. For the money, you cant get much better that actually comes in a half rack and isn't noisy.
Plus, you have incrdible flexibility to mess around with tone options, as the low and mid range have knobs within knobs to change. :lol:
(To the right of my Sustainor 200)
Image

Got mine for $120 I think?

RockmanCentralBob
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:10 am

Re: What EQ do you use?

Post by RockmanCentralBob » Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:52 pm

In my Rev 20 Sustainor rack, I use a couple of Rockman 12 band EQ's and the first ever Digitech MEQ Dual 14 converted to PGE2 specs (I came up with the mod). I also use a MXR 10 band EQ at the start of my chain.

For my Kemper rig, I just have the MXR 10 band at teh start of my chain, all other EQ'ing was either done at the time of profiling my Rev 20, or is done in the Kemper.