Should I re-cap my sustainor?

A family of high-end analog DI and effects gear.
Mikeyblial
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2020 3:18 pm

Should I re-cap my sustainor?

Post by Mikeyblial »

Hey guys, I’m new to this community, and I’m so glad to see this page exists 😀 I’ve been using my sustainor as a key part of my sound for over 15 years now. I was wondering, should I replace the capacitors? I’d have it professionally done, as I don’t feel confident enough in my abilities to be working on such precious gear. I don’t think there are any noise issues, but I’m wondering if I’m missing out on anything sonically by not having it recapped..? I do have 3 of them, so I’m willing to try it out on one if you guys have experienced noticeable, positive results. Thanks so much for your input and advice!

More info- I pretty much just use the clean 2 setting, using the the rockman as a preamp/pedal platform, going into a master volume amp. Dirt comes from overdrive pedals.
RockmanCentralBob
Posts: 394
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2015 2:10 am

Re: Should I re-cap my sustainor?

Post by RockmanCentralBob »

If you are only using clean 2, then I doubt it's worth the effort or expense.
Mikeyblial
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2020 3:18 pm

Re: Should I re-cap my sustainor?

Post by Mikeyblial »

Ok, thank you so much for the feedback! 🤘🏻🤘🏻